h1

Something to Watch for

December 30, 2004

I make a prediction for the first week in the New Year 2005. One of our most vitriolic arguments around the water-cooler will surround Jan Egland’s assertion that America is “stingy” when it comes to Foreign Aid. Even the New York Times, in this article, completely agrees with Egland.

Numbers and percentages will be thrown around by pundits and statisticians, like purchase orders at the last hour of Wall Street’s buying day. But will they hit at the heart of the Water Cooler editorials? The real issue is the continuing decay of our ethical and moral consensus in America. We just don’t agree on what is right and wrong any more. NBC News, with Brian Williams last night, called America’s paltry $35M pledge a “moral failure”. A moral failure? This from the network that apologizes that the “following scenes of carnage from the Tsanami will be hard to watch” but shows them anyway? Who can say how moral or ethical our response is, when few in this country accept an absolute moral standard?

It would be like someone claiming that a person’s sexual preferences and exploits are no one else’s business and then screaming because someone keyed their car. What makes one set of actions morally without scrutiny and the other a platform for outrage?

In a recent video, Osama laughed at America for sending aid to countries with Muslim majorities, claiming that they will simply spend the money to destroy America and Israel. Some were outraged and claimed we should stop sending any money to Islamic countries. Why? Why should we stop doing what is right because a terrorist hunkered down in a cave somewhere is laughing?

Have fun at the water cooler with this one.

One comment

  1. Help me Dude, I’m lost.

    I was searching for Elvis and somehow ended up in your blog, but you know I’m sure I saw Elvis in the supermarket yesterday.

    No honest really, he was right there in front of me, next to the steaks singing “Love me Tender”.

    He said to me (his lip was only slightly curled) “Boy, you need to get yourself a shiny, new plasmatv to go with that blue suede sofa of yours.

    But Elvis said I, In the Ghetto nobody has a plasma tv .

    Dude I’m All Shook Up said Elvis. I think I’ll have me another cheeseburger then I’m gonna go home and ask Michael Jackson to come round and watch that waaaay cool surfing scene in Apocalypse Now on my new plasma tv .

    And then he just walked out of the supermarket singing. . .

    “You give me love and consolation,
    You give me strength to carry on “

    Strange day or what? 🙂



Leave a Reply

