h1

Bono Now Knows about Prayer

February 2, 2006

Bono (do I need to tell you that he is the U2 lead singer?) was asked this year to speak at the Annual President’s prayer breakfast. This is quite a year for the man. First, he keynoted the International AIDS conference in Britain, then was called one of the “People of the Year” by Time Magazine. And now, he is taking part in the prayer answer for this world.

This website is transcribing the entire speech that Bono made (an excellent one by the way…Yahoo News and CNN have the entire videocast on their websites). I love the humility he begins with….look at what he says,

“Well thank you Mr. President, First Lady, King Abdullah of Jordan, Norm, distinguished guests, please join me in praying I don’t say something we all regret. That was for the FCC. If you are wondering what I’m doing here at a prayer breakfast, so am I. I’m certainly not here as a man of the cloth, unless that cloth is leather.

The rest of the speech deals with the AIDS struggle (big surprise) and American money sent to Africa and other areas blighted by this disease. More power to this speech and others like it.

UPDATE: Here is the full transcript of his speech…thanks to Anonymous for the tip.

3 comments

  1. you don’t need to read a transcription on a blog, the whole thing is on DATA’s website already


  2. That’s good to know…it is a tremendous speech and one I would like to refer to in writing.


  3. Even though you posted this I still haven’t found what I’m looking for…



Leave a Reply

