h1

Back Again

August 16, 2007

This is a curious season for me. I am on the go about 12 hours a day and sleeping my normal 8. During the 4 remaining hours left to me, I have felt much less than motivated to blog. Part of that was the total lack of comments. I know by the statistics that we have around 300 readers every week, but so few were commenting.

I am currently writing my book on Hearing God’s Voice and that is taking a lot of my writing time. But I have a thousand other things I would love to teach and write about…if anyone is interersted. If you are, please drop one or two sentences to this posting and it will encourage me to keep posting.

10 comments

  1. thy words are as nourishment to my spirit. Be encouraged ;O)


  2. Hey Mike, please keep blogging and writing that book I so want to read when you are done 😉


  3. I think the question is what are your highest value activities. Are you getting a great “bang for your buck” by blogging? Does blogging contribute to your maximum impact for God? Does it fit into your calling? How much time does it take from your central priorites?

    I don’t want to be fake and tell you that I’d die if you didn’t keep blogging, although the sphere would miss out on a very insightful, funny and thought provoking pastor (a rarity). And I should add that I do look forward to your entries. I would answer the questions above and make an answer based on that because plenty of people are reading your entries even if few comment.
    Personally I am beginning to look at blogging like many other types of attention-sapping activites, because there are so many good entries to read around the sphere that I find I either don’t have time to read all of them (so I don’t read any), get sucked into too much reading, or realize that my time could have been better spent reading but just reading something of higher or more pertinent quality. I love blogs because a great thinker can get his or her thoughts out to the sphere and not have to put it out in book form only for the book to finally see the light of day a year later. Blogging is absolutely wonderful, and the sphere needs winsome and articulate Christian voices, but are we only getting lost in a maze of distration at the expense of greater goods in life?

    P.S. I should add that most of the time when I do read blogs I try to scan as many of my favs as possible, and don’t comment because then I spend even more time checking back over and over throughout the day looking for what other people have written in response…something I love but can get way too sucked into…ugh, what to do!!!


  4. Keep posting if you have a passion for it. If it no longer brings you pleasure than it’s time to get out. I think you already have a bit much on your plate: writing a book, pastoring a cell-based church, counseling, speaking and teaching engagements, a family with needs of its own. You’re porbably also on some community and/or denominational committees (most pastor’s are). Are you staying up until the wee hours of the morning in order to participate in all these things? If not, then you are robbing peter to pay paul.

    Which of these things are most important to you? Are you burned out with any of them? What is your motive behind each project (I mean your real heart motive); is it healty? Which one’s give you energy and which one’s require that you dig deep to muster up the energy to get them done? From an outsider’s perspective it looks like you could be in a season of letting go.

    Just some thoughts.


  5. Thanks all for the encouragement. Actually, I don’t really feel I am burning the candle at both ends (oh boy, now I feel guilty that I’m not). I just jettison things that aren’t priority one when I get overbusy.

    But blogging doesn’t take much of my time. I usually do it while eating breakfast in the morning or listening to music before bed. Thanks for your concern.


  6. Come on, give me a break! Pastoring a church the size of Gateway is a full-time job. Writing a book, getting it published, then promoting it can be very close to a full-time endeavor. Add blogging and all the other stuff you do and it’s overload. You may not feel like you’re burning the candle at booth ends, but those of us in the church can see it. So choose!


  7. Anonymous: Thanks for your concern for me. Because Gateway is founded on the principles of the Cell model (even in non-cell ministries such as Youth and AWANA), most of the ministry is done by others. And when you take three years to get a book done, it doesn’t take that much time.

    However, all of that sounds like a rationalization. I am taking a week off soon to look at how much I am trying to accomplish to ask God which need to be jettisoned. Pray with me that I will obey what He shows me.


  8. Well, when you put it like that I suppose you’re not as overloaded as it might appear from the outside. Even so, it’s probably good to do an assessment with God. One thing that helps me is to find ways to drop the things that sap my energy and devote more time to the things that charge my batteries. But that’s something I pretty much do without really consulting God…which could be a mistake. Anyhow, I will pray that God will clearly reveal his desires for your work.


  9. I’m rolling, LOL. I, too, have begged off of blogging for a few months. Both reading and writing. So much has been happening and I could happily lose myself into the blogosphere rather than getting done what needs to be done.

    I read through all the comments and thought- well Mike, you’re ADHD – even if you were burning the candle at both ends you would see the chicken run by and forget to blow out one end, or both!

    I love your blogs but don’t let it be a chicken…

    On that note, I’m off to teach school for 3-4 hours before returning to the blogs…


  10. Mike please continue blogging. Your writing is food for thought and encourages me to “keep it real” and here’s the rub: where else can I go for a little Blue Like Jazz soul and spirit nourishment on a regular basis? I look forward to reading your book when it is published…
    Laura



Leave a Reply

