h1

Introduction to New Blog Series on TPM

November 19, 2007

Theophostic Prayer Ministry (TPM) is the primary focus of my counseling approach and is the only therapy that I currently mentor others to do. That is not to say I don’t recognize the validity of other therapeutic streams, but through years of experiencing many different types of emotional and psychological approaches to emotional health, TPM seems to show the most results.

But over the course of the last decade, many people have approached me and asked if TPM is biblical. Not everyone means the same thing by this question. Some imply that for something to be biblical, its entire approach must be contained in the Bible. I caution the reader in taking this viewpoint on whether something is “biblical” for it eliminates most legitimate approaches to serving God, including most evangelism and preaching. Other people believe that for something to be “biblical” it must at least be referred to specifically in the Bible. But, of course, this eliminates the work of the Creative Holy Spirit to do a new thing our midst. People who hold to this viewpoint try to eliminate modern worship (for it uses instruments not mentioned in the Bible) and criticizes church buildings (which are not mentioned in the Bible).

I don’t hold to those viewpoints on whether something is “biblical”. To be “biblical”, a belief or practice should adhere to the important and vital teachings of the Bible. While recognizing we will not always agree on application of truths, we can all respect the approach people take when they sincerely want to line up with the Truth claims of the Bible.

I believe that is what TPM does faithfully. In this six-part series, I want to lay the biblical foundation for what is practiced in TPM. My hope is that those who have doubts and fears about TPM’s origins and goals will set those to rest, or at least have another perspective to use in your search and journey.

4 comments

  1. I look forward to reading these. I have wondered at times from things I read on the Internet whether TPM is something dangerous or something that God is using to heal people. Many people in my church endorse it. I would like to see what the Bible says about it. Thanks for doing this.


  2. As someone who has benefited tremendously from TPM, and completely seen Jesus in difficult/pivotal moments of my life through it I am doing the wave in my chair! I look forward to this new series. You go, boy!

    Hmm, is it appropriate to refer to a pastor as “boy”?


  3. I’m glad that “biblical” doesn’t have to be something specifically mentioned in the bible. I was afraid I was going to have to reconcile the Bible and the Great Pumpkin. But I’m good now.


  4. The Great Pumpkin is mentioned in both 2 Hesitations and in Galippians.

    Mike

    And Wendy…yes, you can call me a boy. Kathy says I am the only one of her kids that won’t grow up and move away from home.



Leave a Reply

