h1

Is there a Word for it?

May 28, 2008

This is for golfers primarily. We need a word for that putt you take after the putt you missed you were sure you would make. We have all done it. The five-footer that had your name on it pretended like it didn’t know you. Then, after you miss it, forswear grounding your putter on the green in case there is a marshall lurking in the bushes, you pull back the putt and try it again. Everyone knows you won’t count this one, but your ego and desire to improve (are they the same thing?) requires that you try it again. Twice is probably the limit for such a putt. If you don’t make it by then, it was not to be.

But, returning to the question: What should we call that putt? I would like to hear from my golfing lurkers on this one.

4 comments

  1. It’s called the #*&@!


  2. Hi Mike, I’m not a golfer, but your email doesn’t come up in the comment you left on my blog, and I just wanted to thank you for it. I especially appreciate a man stopping by my blog, considering I often sway to girlie topics that might bore you. Thank you for lurking regardless.


  3. You’re welcome Barb. It is your other blog “Dog-eared” that got me interested in your writing…we have similar tastes in reading. My email is: mikeinsac@sbcglobal.net


  4. How about a “redemption putt”?



Leave a Reply

