h1

Dare You?

June 4, 2008

The present Administration has vilified Al Jazeera news services as basically an arm of Al Qaeda. But I have been reading their English edition for about two months now and I find that it has a very balanced view of all nations of the Southern Hemisphere. In all that time, I have not read more than one article that had a negative slant to the American scene.

Dare you go against the President and his advisors and read about the Southern half of the world? You can read it here.

4 comments

  1. The site looks interesting, and I read a few articles and such, as well as their ethics page. My only question is this: Is the English version the same as the Arab version? Do the translators hedge when writing the English version? I know the ethics page says no, but as I don’t speak any Arab languages, how can I tell?
    Some years ago, a young Palestinian student at ARC showed me a video of something being broadcast live from Aljazeera TV (we pulled it up on the computer). As he translated it, it didn’t seem all that neutral. I am going to continue to view the Aljazeera site, just for my own information. Thanks for the info.


  2. DJM…I can’t honestly say of course. But I will ask my friend who does speak Arabic if they are the same. Also, and I may be wrong, but the editorial board of Al Jazeera newspapers is different than their t.v. broadcasts.


  3. It is ridiculous to try to find good world news coverage. I used to watch Your World Today on CNN but that was replaced by all election all the time nonsense. Now I can only find Your World Today on CNN International which is not part of my package. NPR does a decent job and I can peridically find more than 30 minutes of BBC World news. Our major news networks are a joke. I’ll bookmark the link.


  4. Thanks TBM…and I totally agree with you. News is the angle that everyone wants it to be. My point with Al Jazeera is that the only time we ever get Southern Hemisphere news is when there is genocide. It would be nice to have it at other times.



Leave a Reply

