h1

Friendly Fire: Curse Prayers

June 7, 2008

I was invited to help guide this one church after it had lost a great number of its members and was floundering in almost every way. People were discouraged, personal finances and health of the members was tanking, and it didn’t look like the fellowship would hold together. I sought for answers as soon as I got there. I spent hours talking to individual members and couldn’t put anything together. But inside, God assured me He would bring out the reasons for the tragedy.

I questioned people for more than a month when a young mother of two came and told me that she and her husband wanted desperately to tell me something. The husband, Ed, didn’t look like he wanted to talk at all, so Arlene took the lead.

“We were in a prayer group. That’s when it all started to go down hill”

I was skeptical at first – at least until they described the prayer group. It was comprised of a pastor, several leaders and their wives and one or two “prayer warriors”. There was one focus of the group: to rout out all the inroads the Enemy was making in the church. Primarily, they saw the wife of one man as the culprit. She was critical, arrogant and not in step with the leadership (the words of the pastor verbatim). She was the wife of Don, the church’s most prolific giver. She was his second wife. His first wife died of a heart attack several years before the prayer meeting started.

In their prayer meeting, they prayed that she would see the error of her ways, and that if she didn’t, that God would convince her by bringing tragedy after tragedy upon her, Job style. They were praying she wouldn’t sleep at night until she came on board with the leadership’s vision for the church. As Arlene recounted this, she wept in shame. She told me how the woman had indeed suffered numerous health problems, that she couldn’t sleep at night and that eventually her marriage ended. At the same time, the church really started to fall apart. Eventually, the prayer group disbanded.

I wish I could tell you more of what went on at this prayer meeting, but I have said enough to give you the picture. This group was practicing something that is called “Curse Praying” or as Alice Smith refers to it “Witchcraft Praying“. This kind of prayer wishes harm, misfortune or personal destruction on another person or institution. Here is a quote from the Australian Prayer Network about this kind of prayer:

An example of witchcraft praying would be: “Lord, I pray that you’ll straighten my pastor out! You know how blind and stubborn he is, God. Just break him if you have to.” An implied curse, or hex, is in this prayer. Alice and I call this “witchcraft prayer” because the very essence of witchcraft is control. Prayer based on a desire to control is essentially the practice of witchcraft. In pagan religions and in witchcraft, the grace and sovereignty of a biblical God are unknown. The practitioner is instead dealing with spiritual “forces” that must be appeased, bribed and otherwise manipulated. But God cannot be manipulated and He alone is to be in control. We must always pray His will.

The enemy of our souls knows that since we have freedom of choice and that our freely chosen and freely expressed desires are open for him to use and manipulate, these kind of prayers allow the forces of evil to enact serious damage on other people.

Why would a believer in God pray this way? Perhaps we are so frustrated with someone that we cannot see any way they can see their own unhealthy choices unless bad things happen to them. Or perhaps we secretly wish that someone would suffer the consequences of their actions and we mask that feeling of revenge or bitterness in prayer form. I have personally heard people pray and say “God, will you bring {so and so} to the end of themselves and cause their life to fall apart.”

This kind of prayer is not from God and will cause “friendly fire” to hit friends and loved ones if we pray that way. In the example I started with, I confronted that entire prayer team (minus the former pastor who had left by this time) and instructed them that we are even to bless those who curse us. Nowhere in the Bible are we taught to curse another person. Anyone reading this would be well advised to stay away from praying this.

The question is often asked “What if I believe other people have prayed this about me?” I think the simple answer is to bring it to God and ask God to counteract their curses. I have no scriptural evidence that this works, but it is what I do when I don’t explicitly know what to do. God always has an answer.

4 comments

  1. Thank you for this post. While reading it I was reminded of a time that I prayed that God would “drop kick” someone in my life. My motives were definitely out of hurt frustration and bitterness. I repented before God and confessed it to the person I had prayed this on. I have been pondering various methods/ formulas of prayer that I have been taught and am now holding them up in a new light of understanding.


  2. Thanks for that insight into this. We have no idea sometimes how casual prayers can impact people. Maybe because of bad teaching but more probably because we allow our own motives to invade prayer times as you say.


  3. Psalms 34:13 says – Keep your tongue from evil, And your lips from speaking deceit. Isa 54:17 says No weapon formed against you shall prosper, And every tongue which rises against you in judgment You shall condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, And their righteousness is from Me,” Says the LORD. In Psalms 140:5 it says The proud have hidden a snare for me, and cords; They have spread a net by the wayside; They have set traps for me.

    It’s not the person that we should go after or pray against. It’s the principality that is operating through that person. The spirit of manipulation and control can be broken by simply binding the spirit that is operating through that person. The bible says whatever is bound on earth is bound in heaven !
    Witchcraft is the spirit of divination. Bind the spirit of divination and release the Holy Spirit ! When you don’t know what to pray, pray in the Holy Spirit and you will be praying the perfect will of God !


  4. […] just a whimsical wish on the part of FOTF, but actually playing around with Witchcraft praying (I wrote about this several months ago). Why would anyone want to see God rain judgment or anything else upon another […]



Leave a Reply

