h1

Don’t Waste Time on the Olympics

August 9, 2008

I didn’t say “don’t watch the Olympics”. Just don’t waste time by allowing the television coverage to suck you in like a black hole. It is so easy with events that don’t end (such as war coverage, the Olympics, election coverage, American Idol) to keep watching long past your original point of interest. After all, do you really care who wins the fencing competition?

Here is a way around that. NBC has over 2000 replays and live events on their website. You will only have to add a very small video program called “Silverlight” in order to view it but it only takes about a minute to add it. Just go to www.nbcolympics.com and everything else will be explanatory. This way you only watch the events you were originally interested in and you don’t get all the rest.

Now, excuse me while I go back to watching New Zealand and Mali in Women’s Basketball qualifying level, pool B.

2 comments

  1. Erm… Too bad Silverlight is IE-only and I can’t run IE because I’m on Linux.

    But I don’t have a TV anyway, so it doesn’t matter unless I visit my parents (who have Windows and IE). However, that won’t apply to everyone.


  2. Actually, Silverlight works on my Firefox, but I run Windows.

    You can find Silverlight for Linux in this article:

    http://www.infoworld.com/article/08/05/15/moonlight-release-puts-Silverlight-on-Linux_1.html



Leave a Reply

