h1

Not for Lack…

August 26, 2008

So someone sent me an email this weekend asking why my volume has decreased so much in recent weeks on the Blog.

Simply put, no one is reading it. Well, that would be an exaggeration, but not really. I can put it down to the Olympics, Internet fatigue or my waning abilities as a writer. All of which are legitimate reasons.

But a person writes to be read. This time last year, this blog was getting over 1,000 hits a week. Now it doesn’t generate that in a month. What discourages me is that our call to prayer and focus on intersections in Natomas may be the most important entries I have ever written.

Please don’t post your “here we are” comments below. I am not looking for sympathy or encouragement, just clarification. I have hundreds of things I want to talk about here…I don’t lack for material or ideas, but I do want to be effective in teaching and communicating.  But I have other ways to spend my time if this medium is no longer helpful. If you have a comment to me privately, just email it. If you have a theory why the traffic is down, then post it here.

UPDATE: I admit it. I made a mistake. There were 1,200 hits this month. So maybe the question is “Why are there so few comments?” One emailer said two minutes ago that it is because I won’t allow anonymous comments any more. So, you have your wish. There are now anonymous comments allowed. But don’t abuse the privilege please.

7 comments

  1. Just trying it to see if it allows anonymous comments. Apparently it does everyone


  2. Does it get “marked as read” on your side if i read it from my RSS Feed and not directly from the blog site?


  3. Sometimes i struggle with people not digging what I think are important posts, and then getting a bunch of comments on the little goofy ones.


  4. Vince: maybe the comments aren’t all that important. Maybe just the fact that people are reading is the thing. But I agree…there sometimes is a reciprocal relationship between what I think is important and what actually turns out to hit a nerve with people.


  5. Mike,

    Please continue to write and post-I love your blog and look forward to reading your posts. I think one reason I hadn’t posted any comments was the fear of appearing inarticulate..the fear of man raising its ugly green purple-warted snout..(a nod here to the monster.com mascot) Other times I read and wanted to think on your observations..especially the ones about ministry leaders. If I’ve learned anything from being around the church for so long it is confirmation of trusting your gut when something seems awry. Thank you for your essay and the splendid photo on “Self Esteem for Toes”-I wondered if we knew the same person..and if you had seen the movie Born Into Brothels. The young woman I know is uite talented with photography and the movie demonstrates(again!) what one person can do to change the lives of the humanly “overlooked” with photography.


  6. I love that movie “Born into Brothels”. It may be the only one that I have used more than once in the last year during speaking engagements. The woman has a love for those kids that is way more than emotional. It reaches down to the commitment and sacrificial level. Thanks for your endorsement Laura…I appreciate it.


  7. Aaron: I’ve tried to determine if I get a record of someone checking the site out through an RSS feed and it appears that it does record it. It just doesn’t record that it comes from a particular redirect source. That is only true with Firefox. I haven’t tried it with IE. Great question bro.



Leave a Reply

