h1

How Christians Can Vote “Less”

November 4, 2008

It is time for a little less in this election rather than more. There are ways that Christians can be less than other people, ways that we can actually lose what others have. And these things are worth living without.

Wouldn’t you expect that someone who has a worldview that differs from the mainstream would vote with a viewpoint that is different? You could expect it, but I don’t think it is often the case. As far as I’m concerned, who you vote for (or what) cannot be as important as the worldview with which you vote. Here are five less things that a follower of Jesus can have while voting today:

1. Hypeless: One thing the Bible clearly tells us is “man looks on the outward appearance and God looks at the heart”. Though we can’t see into the heart of every candidate, we can look past the outward appearance. A Christian should be able to put the hype and hoopla of every candidate aside and look at the deeper things of their life.

2. Soundless: The prayer instructions in Matthew’s Gospel apply here too. Don’t be like the pagans that just like to hear themselves pray. (As I write this in the Islands, I can hear a guy with a loudspeaker outside who is loudly proclaiming who to vote for). We are instructed to go into our closets to pray. A believer in Jesus Christ might want to spend the voting day asking God about his opinions and listen with a receiving heart and with a mind wide open. It doesn’t matter who the pastor is voting for. Who is God supporting? That is who is going to be in power (by God’s allowance).

3. Stressless: We don’t need to cheer if the person (or proposition) we voted for prevails. Neither do we have to moan if they don’t. We believe that God knows all things and knows how to handle anyone in power. He did a good job with Pharoah and Nebuchadnezzar, didn’t he? Therefore, don’t stress the results. Our God reigns.

4. Partyless: You may be a member of a particular party but, (and this may come as a shock) God isn’t. He has followers in every party and there are those who are godless in every party. A believer doesn’t tote any line unless it is God’s line. The question, as Joshua discovered, is not “whose side is God on” but rather “who is on the Lord’s side”?

5. Distractionless: Hopefully, a believer in Jesus Christ does the civic duty of voting and then goes on to other affairs in life. Don’t spend days or weeks discussing all the pros and cons of each decision. Let the election season come to an end and move on with life. In fact, move on with life even before you vote. All living is local…you can’t live internationally. You have to live your life now, where you live, with those people you know. You don’t live in Washington (unless you do) and you certainly don’t live in the White house (unless you live in a white house, but that doesn’t count). Wherever you are, be all there.

22 comments

  1. This is a great post, it sounds like a chapter from the book “Margin.” If my party or propositions doesn’t win or pass I’ll be the first to be less of something…less annoying. I’ll do this by committing to pray for whomever wins the White House, instead of just complaining and “hating.” I also try and be less of a “The world is coming to an end because my party did win or proposition didn’t pass” type of attitude-less doom and gloom. I’ll have more respect for those with whom I disagree and more hope for the future. I’m all for a theocracy though: No elections, no special interest groups, no election dollars to raise, no candidates, no problem, right? I love the U.S!


  2. I am all for Theocracy as soon as Jesus has put all his enemies under feet as a footstool. Until then, the best we can believe is that our Father is completely the last word in all that happens. Thanks Jeremiah for an excellent response.


  3. Sorry, I hit the wrong button too quickly and posted before I was done. Better slow down! Anyhow, as I was saying: In this era of slick PR and image professionals, it is hard to get an accurate picture of the deeper things in a candidate’s life. I grow despondent over politics because I no longer see much hope there.
    Anyhow, please forgive me for running down a rabbit trail on this, but I desperately want to understand where people are coming from. Politically, I lean more center-right. And as a Christian, and a conservative, I know that unchecked greed and unchecked free-market ideologues within the conservative camp hold a belief system that is counter to my Christian values. I rail against these immoral values. But I cannot figure out how my brethren in the Lord on the left reconcile Christianity with issues such as abortion, gay marriage, and parental notification for minors seeking abortions. Would some of you be so kind as to enlighten me? I really, really, want to know. But please do not use the same old incessant talking points I hear all the time. I want to know your world view, how you think and how you perceive the Lord’s values working in our society. Where is your heart on these matters? Maybe I am missing something. I promise not to argue, I just want to understand.


  4. I to have wondered how Christians reconcile the homosexual, abortion and parental notification stance, and vote for the candidate that supports these issues. We have a new President that is pro-death. He should not have gotten ONE VOTE from a person that proclaims to be a Christian, but sad to say, he received many of those votes, even from some of my Christian family members.

    So, I do research on the candidates, and if they are pro-death, pro-homosexual, pro-anti parenting, they don’t get my vote. You don’t have to punch that hole. It can be left unpunched. I vote against an issue that is unbibical, ie. gay marriage, aboration, etc. God has spoken clearly in His Word.

    I also believe that we are called to be good stewards of our money. Right now our state is not. For now I don’t vote yes on any bonds until our state becomes better stewards of our tax dollars.

    God meets us where we are at. We can only hope that these Christians that voted no on prop 8 or other unbibical issues, will one day listen to the truth spoken to them from God. It’s like when you witness to an unbeliever, it’s not your responsibility to make sure they accept it, it’s the Holy Spirits. All we can do is continue to speak the truth in love and not give into worldly way so we can run with the crowd.

    I also think that our Pastors need to be preaching more from the pulpit on these issues and stop skirting the issues.


  5. Actually I disagree with you on whether pastors should preach on political issues. Pastors need to preach on what the Bible says and to give the larger biblical principles to the congregation. Then the members of the congregation must go out and decide for themselves how best to live (and to vote) according to those principles. In 1 John 2:27 we are reminded “As for you, the anointing you received from Him remains in you and you don’t need anyone to teach you.” This doesn’t mean that teachers and preachers are unnecessary. But it does mean that the anointing (i.e. Holy Spirit) is each Christian’s Teacher. The pastor’s job has always been to teach biblical principles. It is always dangerous ground when he claims to know exactly how each individual should live out those principles.

    That said, Anonymous, I do have strong opinions on most things. And I think you might be surprised to hear that I don’t really struggle with the issue of Gay marriage. I struggle with the issues surrounding homosexuality. Whether they marry or not is really not that much of a concern to me. They can call it anything they want and it will still be emotionally and spiritually unhealthy. As I said in another venue, Christians need to treat those who disagree with us lovingly and with respect. Those who are Christians who lean left often have a less literal interpretation of the Scriptures. But please don’t assume that means they love the Lord less. That would be judging on narrow issues and perhaps missing out some of the things these people are doing very well.

    A professor of mine said this about liberals and conservatives: “Liberals often live better than they believe and conservatives often believe better than they live”.


  6. Well said Mike. I voted “Yes” on prop 8, but legally we didn’t really even win that much in the battle. This prop 8 battle (just to choose one) was over respect, mostly. Now I think people like Gavin Newsome can eat my shoe for his disregard for the rule of law (ie. what he did earlier in the year, deeming gay marriages “legal” without any legal authority). He is annoying and disrespectful to non-liberals in S.F., but we Christians can be pretty darn annoying too. I’ll be honest, my best friend is gay-my brother. I love him more than words, and he hangs with a rather large bunch of gay friends who are all devout followers of one contemporary Christian music’s biggest names. Almost all of these men were raised in Christian homes by parents who sacrificed, loved and raised their boys as best they could. Now those boys are men and have chosen (along with a lot of other complex reasons) to live a gay lifestyle. All of these men are deeply sensitive, compassionate, caring and amicable. Some of them have rejected Christ and may never return to the Faith; some of them can still be won over. I strongly disagree with them on many issues, but I’ve chosen to enter into their world. Apart from their homosexuality many of them are very funny, outgoing and smart…just fun to be around. I know that if I had a son who was a practicing homosexual and living apart from me that I would love for a Christian to step into his life and befriend him. I am a Conservative politically, but we Conservatives (esp. the ones who are Christians) have disgruntled nearly a whole generation of gays who may never come to Christ simply because we cannot chose to disagree with them in love. Now I’m not saying that Conservatives or Christians need to capitulate on the issue of gay marriage (though it is being given away with the other hand through domestic partnerships; if we were consistent we’d fight against that too; so in a sense we are merely saving a word, not an institution). We can and must find a more love-centered practice of our political philosphies, so that people aren’t driven away from the gospel simply because they aren’t a Republican. In fact, one of the godliest couples my wife and I have ever met-and love to death-were in our Networks group, and I couldn’t even stand to think of them rejecting the Faith because “most” Christians are Republicans. They won’t ever change their views and I know that; I love them and so does Jesus. Now again, in regards to gays, I agree that Christians and Conservatives can disagree with homosexuals (just to use one example), but do any of you have even one friend who needs Christ who is gay? How else can they gain eternal life if their entire social circle consists of people who are lost? Make it your goal to seek one or more out and get to know them. That goes for someone who is pro-choice or anti-family. They just may be praying to God that someone come into their lives who can offer them hope and light.


  7. Jeremiah, you said a mouthful, but it was a prophetic cry that needs to be heard. Thank you.


  8. Yes, pastors should preach on what the Bible says but I wonder how many pastors dilute the message so as to make it more palatable to this extremely sensitive generation. I read an article recently about a mid-town pastor who does not use the word “sin” in his messages because it “does not track well” with this generation. He prefers to use the term “brokenness.” We play a dangerous game of words in the hope of being understood as loving and tolerant. The apostle Paul was not afraid to be very in-your-face, at the right time, regarding sin.

    Anyhow, since 1 John 2:27 addresses this issue, it would appear that something has gone amiss. Otherwise, why do so many Christians take the side of issues that are clearly immoral? Maybe they are listening to their own spirits and self-interests and not the Holy Spirit. Maybe they are misinterpreting what the Holy Spirit is really saying. Maybe we know the truth but choose instead to vote for the candidate or legislation that promises the most gold in our wallets.

    I am afraid we have stretched the Lord’s patience and I, for one, do not want to see that patience run out.

    And here is a suggestion: Instead of Christians going back to life-as-normal post election, why not get involved in the process? Nothing will change if we go back to life-as-usual. At the very least, we should stay informed so that when it is time to vote we do not find ourselves voting merely for what sounds and looks good. The pastor of this blog does a lot of reading. He sets a great example in this regard. Turn off the boob tube and read something entertaining, topical, and informative. Get passionate about an issue of substance.
    By the way, I guess there are no liberal Christians who read this blog with the gravitas to offer an argument as to their politics, morality, and Christian faith? Come on, step into the fray!


  9. I decided several years ago that though I may disagree strongly with those who do not know Christ, I swore that I would try with all of my heart to leave a winsome memory of me with each one of them. I worked at a local bookstore for many years and during that time I was only one of two Christians who ever worked there. Some of the employees were raised as Christians but none of them knew Christ as young adults. I befriended tons of gays, several practicers of the Wiccan religion, die-hard New Agers, hard-nosed atheists, narcissistic secularists, disgruntled former Catholics, Swingers, proud alcoholics, Mormons, belligerent evolutionists, agnostics and all but two of them were liberals politically; but we had a blast getting to know one another. I learned so much about them and they learned a ton about me. I was able to share Christ with a few of them and many of them asked me why I believed what I did; I loved it. But I think of so many of those people at that store and pray for them still to this day that the seeds that I planted will somehow, someday influence them a little closer the Jesus. I pray that we would stop labelling people so much-and thereby nearly ignoring them or turning them off-and look at them as God sees them, as lost souls in need of a Savior; and not “that Liberal or that gay guy” I work with. We too often surround every sphere of our lives with people of our own political and religious beliefs, and because we only know a particular group of people through the news and since we never usually take the time to get to really know someone of a different political or worldview stripe we fail to remember that they are people made in God’s image; they become a nameless and faceless group that as “good” Christians we are “supposed” to oppose. And all that they remember of Conservatives or Christians is our yelling and screaming during political season. What kind of a witness is that?
    Sorry for the rambling.


  10. Curious: You make some very good points. The pastor you mentioned who doesn’t talk about “sin” is typical of a generation of preachers who really do want to make their message “relevant” by making it “easy”. There is nothing easy about Truth. Sin is sin. It is also brokenness to be sure, but that is only one small aspect of it. Sin is also offensive to God. Sin is selfishness. Sin is taking what is not mine to use it for my own desires. Sin is lawlessness. Shall I go on? But it is also brokenness.

    Why don’t Christians vote according to what Holy Spirit wants? Because too many Christian leaders have “spoon-fed” congregations for too long. I had a guy in the church ask me why I don’t preach through the Bible in five years like one prominent Calvary Chapel guy. I told him “Because it is your job to read the Bible for yourself. My job is to teach you how to feed yourself.”. There is no question that Conservative Christians are almost as biblically illiterate as Liberal Christians. That is why most Conservative Christians failed to use good biblical arguments when talking about Gay marriage. They didn’t know any.

    The Bible doesn’t say anything about homosexual marriage. It does talk about what happens the further that people get away from the knowledge of God. Their morals and ethics get twisted. That includes living a homosexual lifestyle. The Bible talks a lot about that. It also includes becoming a gossip, a slanderer, violent, back-biters and the like. How come we don’t pass any laws about those things? That is actually the primary argument that Liberal Christians use.

    Now, I take up Curious’ call. I know there are dozens of Liberal Christians who read this blog. Any one care to weigh in on this subject?


  11. I like your response to the guy who asked about the Calvary Chapel Bible preaching approach. But for the sake of argument, I was in a liturgical church recently where the pastor mentioned the reason they go through the Bible in a structured order over a long period of time is because they want to make sure they preach what God wants. A logical argument, though I suspect there are benefits and risks with both approaches. Anyhow, that was a digression.

    I read an article today about the author, Hilmar Von Campe. He was a Hitler youth at the time of WW II. Von Campe makes some disturbing observations. For one, he says, “Everything I write is based on my personal experience in Nazi Germany. There is nothing theoretical about my description of what happens when a nation throws God out of government and society, and Christians become religious bystanders. I don’t want to see a repetition. The role of God in human society is the decisive issue for this generation. My writing is part of my life of restitution for the crimes of a godless government, of the evil of which I was a part.”

    This guy goes on to slam the American pulpit, and those of us in the pews/cushy chairs, for our silence on moral issues. He feels it will ultimately lead to totalitarianism. It makes me doubt whether Jeremiah’s proposition that all we need to do is love sinners into the kingdom is the only permissible response to the sinfulness of our times. Maybe, some folks simply will not receive the truth, no matter how much love we exude. Remember free will? Perhaps we need to discern when to speak the truth and brush the dust off our sandals if it is rejected. I know, easier said than done.

    By the way, where can one find Biblical standpoints, other than the Genesis hell-fire-and-brimstone passages, regarding homosexuality? I would really like to read Bible verses on the subject that are a bit off the beaten path. Thanks!


  12. The primary New Testament section on homosexuality is in Romans 1…the last part of the chapter.

    The church’s response to the Nazi regime in World War 2 btw was not neutral. The church did not become bystanders. Except for courageous individuals such as Deitrich Boenhoeffer, the church actually supported Hitler’s policies.

    Coincidentally, one of Hitler’s targets was the homosexual community. If you were a homosexual, you were thrown into the prison camps along with the jews, the mentally handicapped and the physically handicapped. After awhile, even the pastors who originally supported Hitler couldn’t take it and spoke out against it. They then were thrown in the same prisons. I don’t think the situations are even remotely parallel.

    In our situation, we are having a public debate on whether something should be legal or not. That has to be the focus. And I am not sure the pulpit is the place to make judgments on Natural Law and its consequences.

    My personal opinion is that the issue of gay marriage is not the issue. The issue is that Christians have not made it clear to the homosexual community why homosexuality is bad for society. To say that it undermines marriage begs the question “How?”. There are answers to that question, but a society that is not based upon the Bible needs to have an answer from us that makes sense.

    Here is my answer to why homosexual marriages are not a good precedent. The homosexual community has yet to prove they can be stable partners. All the studies that have been done in recent years have shown that homosexual couples are primarily oriented toward sexual fulfillment and not relationships. That is especially true of male homosexuals. If that were true of heterosexual relationships, we would have a 90% divorce rate instead of the 35% rate we have now. Hetero couples who are oriented primarily toward sex usually just live together or live separately.

    Until the homosexual community can show over time they will have stable relationships, we need to be cautious about recognizing their marriage vows as anything more than just a desire for legitimacy.

    That would be an example of an argument that does not bring the Bible into it. If we are talking among ourselves as Christians or to Christians, then the Bible becomes relevant.


  13. Hey Anon,

    Maybe I’m reading into what you’re saying, but if I’m not, you seem to make the mistake there is a difference between standing for godly values (by taking a stand on modern moral issues) and how you characterized my view (which I never said anyway), that “all we need to do is love sinners into the Kingdom.” If you didn’t see the two that way then why would you contrast them in paragraph three of your post?
    My view, and the view of Scripture, is that God’s love flowing through me permeates all that I do. This is true whether I am loving someone with whom I disagree by befriending them or by standing in the public square, so-to-speak, for truth. So you don’t have to doubt anymore whether “Jeremiah’s proposition that all we need to do is to love sinners into the Kingdom is the only permissible response to the sinfulness of our times.” If love permeates all that we do, loving someone into the Kingdom is the only thing that we can do; sometimes it will just manifest itself in different ways…unless you have a better alternative.
    Good post. I love the lively discussion.


  14. Mike is exactly right about using arguments that aren’t based overtly in Scripture. We need to appeal to Natural Law and reasonable arguments. My only concern about this particular argument Mike is this: What if homosexual couples could show that they can live stable lives, raise children properly and could even maintain a lower divorce rate than heterosexual couples? Would that then justify same-sex marriages with the title and full rights of heterosexual marriage? I don’t think so. So there is more to the issue than that, but I assume that this is just one argument you would marshal anyway.

    One of my biggest concerns about same-sex marriage (or even marriage in general), among other things, is that the institution of marriage not be treated like a social construction. If something is a socially constructed institution then man can make any changes justifiably because it is created by man in the first place.

    You said that the focus has to be whether or not this should be legal, and you are right. But, I think Christians need to make sure not to take their eyes off of two other very important questions in this debate: What is marriage (and is it a social construction) and from where (or in our case, from Whom) our rights are derived from? This is the case because it is the wrong answers to these two questions that I believe gives the issue of the legality of same-sex marriages more persuasive power from gay-rights advocates.

    Christians are debating this issue with people who are fighting for a legal right, but in the meantime many of them (not all) are redefining the fundamental issues of what marriage is and where our rights come from. So some of the “meta” issues here are still up for debate and we must frame this debate carefully. The Christian community can make the case for this without overtly appealing to the Bible and in do so in a loving, gracious and winsome way-and we must.
    On a quick note, my brother says that most people outside of the gay community don’t realize the divisions within. There are a lot of people who either don’t care about this issue or (like my brother) believe that traditional marriage should be between a man and a woman. My bro has faced severe treatment from some people for his views-and it hurts him-but in the end he’s a good sport about it.


  15. Jeremiah: As I read what you had in your last comment, I decided to move this discussion to the big board. See my comments there.


  16. Mike, perhaps I am not tracking with your thought when you say, “I do not think the situations are even remotely parallel.” When I refer to homosexuality in the context of Nazi Germany I use it as an example of one of many aberrant and immoral positions our culture seems determined to normalize. But even if the church was a willing Nazi participant during WW II, you still make my point: there is a plausible parallel between modern Christians who are silent about, or active participants in, the increasingly prodigious immorality today and past cultures that went down a similar path.

    As for the pulpit and the pew; these two are significant sources of moral direction. I do not lay all the blame at the feet of our clergy, but I wonder how many of our clergy, and laypersons, have succumbed to the culture’s twisted thinking. In other words: it seems there is less salt to preserve a rotting carcass.

    Jeremiah, I sincerely do not think I misunderstand your position; I have heard the argument that love is the foundation and driving motivation for all our (Christians) relationships and in all our dealings with the world around us. I get that. Here is an “alternative”: hate evil, love good. It seems to me that many Christians want to focus almost exclusively on the “love good” part. I hate evil; it enrages me. I hate it when I see it in others and I especially hate it when I allow it into my own life. Am I a bad Christian because I hate evil? I understand the difference between hating evil and loving the person that succumbs to evil. Sometimes the two are tightly intertwined.

    I just read an article about the head honcho at GM traveling to Washington on a Gulfstream private jet in order to beg for taxpayer dollars. The cost of the trip on the private jet was $20,000. I hate that sort of shameful display of arrogant greed. I hate the sin and I do not think too highly of the jack*#@ sinner, either. Am I a bad Christian?


  17. Anon: When I say the situations are not parallel, I do get your point. Silence on a defining social issue can be tantamount to approval. But the situation here and in Hitler’s day are hardly parallel. The Nazi regime did not go to public opinion or a referendum on the issues they enforced. They just did them. Afterwards, they had their publicity doctors spin it so everyone could see why it had to be done. In this discussion on homosexual marriage, it is a debate about moral values. That is hardly the same thing as what the Nazis did.

    Also, pastors around the country have been very vocal for a long time about homosexuality. But it seemed like no one listened. After awhile, you want to go to other themes. I know I do.

    I agree with you about the GM of GM making a mockery of his testimony by his means of travel. Doesn’t he have an assistant who can collar him and say “Oh, by the way boss, it might look better if you drove there or at least went Coach on Delta.”


  18. Jeremiah – I think more harm is done by a Christian person who throws out the “some of my best friends are gay” and then tells us, I just show love to them so they can see God in me. Honestly, how many conversations have you had with your “friends” about the sin in their life? I would think since you don’t do it to your “gay” friends, you probably don’t hold your other friends accountable when they are struggling with sin in their life. Do you just smile at them and hope they see God in you and will straighten out? When you are struggling does it help to have someone to walk thru that with you? Do you see the need for accountability?

    I agree with anonymous that we need to hate evil and love good. Even Jesus overturned the tables in the temple…. And I don’t see a smile on his face when I read that story in the Bible.


  19. Anonymous: If we are going to use the story of Jesus overturning the tables, let’s use it properly. That action by Jesus was a Prophetic Act. He was proclaiming a truth for God through an action of destruction. It was no more meant to be a pattern for us to follow than was his cursing of the Fig Tree. Both were prophetic acts. Jesus was telling the nation of Israel that their temple needed to be clean of all the entrapments of commerce and greed.

    The second thing we do need to remember in this discussion is that showing love is always our first priority. But that does not exclude us from other priorities as well. I can’t speak for Jeremiah, but I can love someone and confront them as well. The two go hand in hand.

    But the one person I cannot confront is a person with whom I have no relationship. Confrontation requires relationship. There is no effective confrontation when I march with a sign in front of a stranger’s home. That is both intrusive and obnoxious.

    And it depends if our gay friends are Christians. If they are, then it is perfectly legitimate to confront them on their homosexuality. But it must be done with grace and understanding.

    But are we also ready to confront people with their greed when they are buying $100,000 cars with the equity in their homes? Are we ready to confront people in gossip? I hope so, because those things are hurting the church worse than homosexuality is.


  20. There was nothing wrong with using the story of Jesus overturning the tables in the temple. My point was that Jesus did confront a sinful act with aggression. He had had it with the men in the temple using it to their own profits. Those men were flaunting their evil hearts and probably almost daring anyone to say something to them. Well Jesus did. But I disagree with you on that not being an example for us to follow. When sin is so boldly done in front of us, we do need to stand up to it. How many people continued to walk to those tables and just grumbled instead of confronting those men?

    That makes my point again about needing to confront someone verse just smiling and hoping they get it. And confronting is not always an act of aggression.


  21. I’ve been too busy this week for a full response-and I’m still busy. But for now, Anon, relax a little my friend; go and have jog, a laugh or a drink. All that I’m going to say right now is that almost no one in my social circle will listen to a word I have to say unless I’ve earned the right to speak with any authority into their life. This is the first step in my strategy toward bringing them to Christ, not by pointing out their sin but by talking and getting to know them. In regards to one of your comments, I’ve spoken into a lot of people’s lives about moral issues, but I always err on first listening and understanding that which I’m speaking to before I make a moral judgement. If I just tell them that they are going to hell or that their actions are having a delterious effect on society then I may have won immediate battle (making my veiws heard) but lost the war (their soul, friendship & respect). I agree with you though on some things, there are times where my inner anger has burned because of the rampant sin in our society with which we all have to live with.


  22. Have any of you ever struggled with sexual sins of any sort? Did someone come along and make a public scene about you or did they try and lovingly restore you? In society and the church pornography is more of a problem than homosexuality. If every man on Sunday raised their hands for who was guilty of ongoing sexual sins it would dwarf the number of actively practicing homosexual men and women in every city in America.
    Are we as concerned about the sin by godly men as you are about the sins by ungodly men? If the sins (particularly sexual sins) of ungodly men and women in the U.S. are retarding our moral landscape, how much more are the sins of godly men and women retarding the moral landscape of the church?
    It’s funny how often we jump and scream about the sexual sins in society and yet rationalize or ignore the filth of sexual sins right under our church roofs and in our own lives.



Leave a Reply

