h1

Book Teaches an Alternative to Divorce

March 31, 2010

Here’s an excerpt from a Newsweek article about one of the most exciting new books on the market related to divorce and separation:

Her husband’s words hit Laura Munson “like a sucker punch.” And yet, she says, she was able to duck. After two decades together, he came to her on a summer day and told her: “I don’t love you anymore. I’m not sure I ever did. I’m moving out. The kids will understand. They’ll want me to be happy.” His plan was to leave Munson, their two young children, and the life they had built together in a farmhouse on 20 acres in rural Montana…So she held her anger in check and asked, “What can we do to give you the distance you need without hurting the family?” It took immense discipline and patience, as Munson recounts in her new book, “This Is Not the Story You Think It Is.”

You can read the whole story here, and get the book here. Laura is a writer from Whitefish, Montana and has a different story to tell than most people going through divorce.

2 comments

  1. This is awesome. I went through something like this very early in marriage. I had Christian’s advising me to leave. I was determined to not loose my marriage but knew I couldn’t do anything but pray and not let it go. My prayer life and relationship with God grew by leaps and bounds during that time. I saw it as a spiritual battle for my husband and my marriage. Years later I was able to encourage another woman in a situation more like Laura Munson’s. A husband determined to leave her, the kids and the home and, like my experience, others telling her to let him. It is so hard to be a Christian woman and to face this without judgment or fear of others judging you or your spouse. We prayed together, cried together and I encouraged her to pray for him. Pray for him and then let God make it work because He is the only one who could change her husbands heart. Her husband, like mine, like Laura’s, came back and, even better, came back to the Lord.


  2. Wendy: Thank you so much for sharing your story and your experience. I think with this recession more and more people are going to rethink the nasty consequences of going through divorce. This book really is a winner.



Leave a Reply

