h1

Easy Tether Comes Through

January 4, 2012

I often have to work on the run somewhere. Many times, that requires Internet access. But I have several limitations to that requirement:

  1. I don’t like to use my phone when doing a lot of typing.
  2. I can’t always find a Wifi hot spot
  3. I am too cheap to buy a WiMax subscription
  4. I don’t want to pay for my phone to create a hot spot for my computer (up to $40/month)
  5. I don’t want to break the law by rooting or jailbreaking my phone.

I found the legal and affordable solution. The program “Easy Tether” does not root the phone and allows your phone to give Internet access to your computer. In fact, I did this entire article while in a cafe that does not have Internet access. Right now, it costs only $4.99 through Amazon’s App store.

I did have some problems with setup. My LG phone needed a software update to get it all to work. But after it did, I have had no problems at all. For many people, this article is gobbldygook. But for Technogeeks who want to use their phone to get internet for their computers, this is a reasonable solution.

4 comments

  1. Jailbreaking is legal under a 2010 DMCA exemption issued by Congress, I believe…


  2. Well, it may or may not be legal, but it does void the warranty on the phone. This program is well within the warranty.


    • doesn’t tethering without using the carrier’s official method of tethering violate the contract?


      • Chris: Having looked it up a number of times, I have come to the conclusion that it does not stand up in court, so the carriers have stopped worrying about stand-alone apps like Easy Tether.



Leave a Reply

