h1

My Nominee for “Mother of the Year”

March 27, 2012

I would love to post a picture of the woman who is my personal nominee for “Mother of the Year“, but I can’t.

I have never met her. I don’t even know her name. But I know what she did and I’m very impressed.

Last Friday, I helped chaperone a dance at our local high school gym. My job was to guard one of the back entrances so teens couldn’t sneak out that way or let their friends in without paying. To the credit of the students, no one tried to do either. 

But because I was hanging on the edge of the crowd, I witnessed many conversations between students. I noticed two 14-year old freshmen girls more than anyone. They were having a fantastic time, dancing with each other, laughing, doing the “Dougie”, eating pizza and giggling up a storm. Here’s how I knew they were 14.

At least four times during the evening, a tall older-looking young man approached one of the girls and asked her to dance. I didn’t hear every one of their conversations, but each time he left alone without her on his arm. However, I did hear the final conversation and I am impressed. Here’s how it went down.

The young man asked the girl to dance with him again.

“You’re sixteen, aren’t you?” she asked

“Yeah…I’m a Junior”

“Well, I’m fourteen and you’re too old for me. All night long you’ve been hitting on me and I keep telling you I am not dancing with a 16-year old. My mom told me all the lines older guys would use tonight and you’ve used every single one of them. I’ve asked you nicely to leave me alone. You’re too old for me. I just want to dance with my friend. If you don’t go away, I’m going to get angry!”

This boy’s eyes came an inch out of his skull and he quickly slinked away. The girls went back to giggling and dancing as I stood up and applauded them. They didn’t even notice I was there.

But I noticed one person who wasn’t. Her amazing mother.

Leave a Reply

